Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of AIAAA

AIAAA: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

AIAAA stands for American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. It is a leading technical society based in America, dedicated to the global aerospace profession and aerospace engineering. It was established in 1963 by the merger of two aerospace societies: the American Rocket Society (ARS) and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences (IAS). As of 2015, it has more than 30,000 individual members and 95 corporate members. Its mission is to advance and inspire the future of aerospace for the benefit of humanity. Its tagline is "Shaping the future of Aerospace".

AIAAA full form


AIAA published various technical journals which help students and professionals to stay current on the latest aerospace research and development. Some of its popular journals are as follows:

  • Journal of Air Transportation (started in 2016)
  • Journal of Aircraft ( 1964-current)
  • Journal of Aerospace Information Systems (2004 ? current)
  • Journal of Energy (1977-1983)
  • Journal of Guidance, Control and Dynamics (1978-current)
  • Journal of Hydronautics (1967 - 1980)
  • Journal of Propulsion and Power (1985-current)
  • Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets( 1964 ? current)
  • Journal of Thermophysics and Heat Transfer (1987-current)

Awards of AIAA

AIAA offers various prestigious awards to people for the remarkable achievements in the field of astronautics. Some of the popular awards presented by AIAA are as follows:

  • Goddard Astronautics Award: It is the highest honor bestowed by AIAA for remarkable achievement in the field of astronautics.
  • Reed Aeronautics Award: This award is named after Dr. Sylvanus A. Reed.
  • Holt Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity: This award was named after Prof. Holt Ashley for his dedication towards the advancement of aerospace science and engineering.
  • Missile Systems Award: This award is presented by AIAA during its Space and Astronautics Forum. It is generally presented in two categories: Technical and Management.
  • Wyld Propulsion Award: This award is presented by AIAA annually for the remarkable achievement in the development of the application of rocket propulsion systems. It is named after James Hard Wyld to honour him for his achievements.

Next TopicFull Form

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA