Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of ASEAN

ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations

ASEAN stands for Association of Southeast Asian Nations. It is an association of 10 Southeast Asian countries established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok. It was established by its five founding member states: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

It was established to promote political and economic cooperation and regional stability among the member states. Over the years, its membership has expanded to include five more countries: Brunei, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Vietnam. So, at present, it has ten member countries.

ASEAN full form

ASEAN's motto is One Vision, One Identity and One Community. As per the Article 31 of the ASEAN Charter, the ASEAN's chairmanship rotates annually in alphabetical order of the English names of the Member States. The member state holding the chairmanship chairs the ASEAN summit and allied summits. Singapore is the Chair of ASEAN for 2018. The association aims to accelerate economic growth, social progress among the member countries and to resolve differences peacefully.


The ASEAN has its own flag, a symbol of member states? unity. It represents a stable, peaceful, united and dynamic organization. Its colours (blue, red, white and yellow) represent the main colours of the flags of ASEAN member states and have different meanings. The blue colour indicates peace and stability, red colour indicates courage and dynamics, white colour shows purity and yellow colour depicts prosperity. In the centre, the flag has stalks of padi (rice) which represents friendship and solidarity.

Aims and Purposes:

  • To promote the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the member countries through joint efforts
  • To promote regional peace and prosperity by abiding respect for law and justice among the member countries
  • To promote active participation and cooperation on matters of common interest in the social, economic, scientific and technical fields
  • To assist one another through training and research facilities in the education, professional, and technical fields
  • To build and maintain relationships with existing regional or international organizations with similar aims and functions.

Fundamental Principles:

The ASEAN member countries have adopted the following fundamental principles as described in the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC), 1976:

  • Mutual respect for the independence, equality, territorial integrity and national identity of all member nations
  • Every member country has the right to lead its national existence free of external interference, rebellion or forces
  • Do not interfere in the internal affairs of one another
  • Resolve the disputes or differences through peaceful procedures
  • Reject the threat or use of force and encourage effective cooperation among member states

Brief History:

  • It was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand by its five founding member states.
  • Brunei joined on 7 January 1984.
  • Vietnam joined on 28 July 1997.
  • Cambodia joined on 30 April 1999.
  • Laos and Myanmar joined on 23 July 1997.
  • In 1976, the member countries signed the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation to emphasize the promotion of peace, friendship and cooperation to build solidarity.
  • ASEAN Plus Three forum was created in 1997, which included China, South Korea and Japan, to further extend the regional cooperation.
  • ASEAN has negotiated a free trade agreement among its members to promote trade.
  • The member states have also signed an agreement to not to develop nuclear weapons and fight against terrorism.
  • In 2003, the group agreed on the pursuit of three communities.
  • ✓ ASEAN Political-Security Community
    ✓ ASEAN Economic Community
    ✓ ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community
  • In 2005, East Asia Summit was introduced to include India, Australia, New Zealand, Russia and the United States.
Next TopicFull Form

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA