Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of CBSE

CBSE: Central Board of Secondary Education

CBSE stands for Central Board of Secondary Education. It is one of the leading boards in public and private schools in India. It is headquartered in New Delhi. Apart from their headquarters, there are other regional offices in Delhi, Chennai, Guwahati, Allahabad, Ajmer, Panchkula, etc. As of July 2017, Rakesh Kumar Chaturvedi is the chairman of CBSE. He is a Madhya Pradesh cadre IAS officer of the 1987 batch.

CBSE full form

Key Objectives

  • To define appropriate academic approaches for stress-free, holistic, and child-centred education without compromising on quality.
  • To monitor and analyse the quality of academic activities on the basis of feedback collected from different stakeholders.
  • To propose plans to improve education in schools consistent with the National goals.
  • Organize capacity-building programs to update the skills and professional competency of teachers.
  • To prescribe the format and conditions of exams and conduct final exams of 10th and 12th classes.
  • To prescribe and update the guidelines or instructions for CBSE examinations.
  • To affiliate with the institutions that fulfil the requirements of CBSE.

Regional offices of CBSE: It has 10 regional offices.

  • New Delhi (Headquarter)
  • Allahabad
  • Dehradun
  • Chennai
  • Guwahati
  • Patna
  • Ajmer
  • Panchkula
  • Bhubneshwar
  • Thiruvanathapuram
  • Thiruvananthapuram


CBSE was established on 3 November 1962. It is affiliated with all Kendriya Vidyalayas, all Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, private schools, and most of the schools approved by the Central Government of India.


  • The Central Board of Secondary Education conducts the final examination every year for class 10th and 12th students.
  • It also conducts AIEEE (All India Engineering Entrance Examination) every year. It is a competitive examination at the national level for admission into various undergraduate courses in engineering and architecture.
  • It also conducts the All India Pre-Medical Test (AIPMT) every year, which is a competitive examination for admission to major medical colleges across India.
  • It also conducts the Central Teachers Eligibility Test (CTET) every year to recruit teachers for central schools.
  • It also conducts the National Eligibility Test (NET) for the selection of professors at colleges and universities and the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) for the selection of school teachers.

Eligibility Requirements for the CBSE Exam:

Class ten students take the AISSE test administered by the CBSE, while students in the 12th grade take the AISSCE test. The National Eligibility Test (NET) is an annual teacher recruitment test administered by CBSE.

For the 10th-class AISSE and 12th-class AISSCE exams, only enrolled students at schools that are affiliated with the CBSE are allowed to appear.

According to CBSE guidelines, students who earn their Master's degree in social sciences, humanities, or a related field from a board or university acknowledged by the UGC with an overall percentage of over 55% may sit for the NET exam.

Benefits of CBSE

  • The curriculum is simpler and lighter than that of other Indian boards.
  • Transferring to schools is easier when a student needs to move to a new state because there are more CBSE schools compared to any other board.
  • The suggested CBSE syllabus is used as the foundation for several undergraduate competitive exams in India.
  • Students may participate in both co-curricular and curricular activities through CBSE.
  • Typically, when compared to pupils from other state boards, CBSE students are thought to have stronger English language skills.
  • The CBSE guidelines make sure that practically all CBSE schools put a strong emphasis on giving their kids a top-notch education.

Next TopicFull Form

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA