Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of CGL

CGL: Combined Graduate Level

CGL Full Form

CGL stands for Combined Graduate Level. It is one of the most sought exams conducted annually by Staff Selection Commission, which was established in 1975. So, it is often referred to as SSC CGL (Staff Selection Commission - Combined Graduate Level Exam).

CGL is conducted to recruit staff to various posts in ministries, government departments, and other organizations of the Government of India, including Group B and Group C Posts. However, the final selection of the candidates depends on the number of vacancies from the concerned departments.

The exam is conducted online. It is a computer-based test, which is conducted in four steps:

  • Tier-I (Preliminary Exam) with a duration of 60 minutes
  • Tier-II (Main Exam) with a duration of 120 minutes
  • Tier-III (Descriptive Test) with a duration of 60 minutes
  • Tier-IV (Computer Proficiency Test or Skill Test) with a duration of 45 minutes

Eligibility: The candidate should be a citizen of India with a bachelor's degree in a relevant discipline. The age limit has been increased by the SSC for SSC CGL Recruitment; however, the age varies from post to post. The minimum age required for SSC CGL is 27 years, and the maximum age limit is 32 years.

Next TopicFull Forms List

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA