How to Delete Twitter Account
With more than 330 million monthly active users, Twitter has become a significant source of information, a useful tool for marketing, and a perfect platform to show different skills. Twitter is an online social media platform that can enhance visibility on social mediums more quickly than other tools- one effective tweet can boost your entire profile among millions of the other twitter users. It is a platform that enables users to send and receive brief (140 characters) messages called "tweets." Here, you can interact with people and follow them for updates about them.
The platform enables millions of advantages- it allows everyone to communicate anywhere around the world, share opinions, and debate, still, with all these advantages, sometimes it becomes a source of awkwardness too just because of some online discussion or some controversies about few doubtful things. These few reasons could let you get rid of the twitter account or to delete the account permanently.
Whatever the problem you are facing, if you want to delete your Twitter account or profile permanently, or have made your mindset to leave Twitter, you have to follow the given step which could be achieved within a few steps
In this tutorial, you will find all the essential reasons, tips to remember, and basic guidelines to delete the Twitter account permanently. Follow the given steps to delete the Twitter account forever.
Reason behind Deleting Twitter Account:
Deleting an account on social media platforms is not digestible as this is 2020, where online visibility matters a lot for any individuals/brand/business/entrepreneur. But, still, there are circumstances when users delete their Twitter account to get rid of the online hassle. Here are some of the primary reasons which could force someone to delete his/her Twitter account permanently.
Think before deleting your Twitter account:
Deleting a Twitter account after having a huge number of followers and a good image on the channel is quite difficult. Therefore, before deleting the Twitter account permanently, one should think twice as once the Twitter account is deleted, you can't retrieve it back. These are some tips you need to remember before taking such a step.
Difference between Delete & Deactivation:
If you are going to delete your Twitter account, you need to understand the significant difference between deleting and deactivating a Twitter account. Most of the social media platform, deleting and deactivating account are the two different things, but if we talk about Twitter account deleting and deactivating are same things. In Twitter, if you will not recover your account within 30 days after deactivating your Twitter account, it will get deleted permanently. Afterward, you won't be able to recover your Twitter account.
So, you have one, and the only option to delete a Twitter account is to leave it deactivated for 30 days. After that, your account will be automatically deleted. Once the account is deleted, all tweets will get automatically removed from the Twitter servers permanently. Once your Twitter account is deleted, the username that you have created when you Log in the first time to your account could be used by anyone, the email address formerly associated with the account can be used to sign up with the new account.
Steps for How to Delete Twitter Account:
You can delete your Twitter account with a few steps. Here in the tutorial, you will learn the easy process to delete your Twitter account through desktop, Android as well as via iOS.
Delete Twitter Account on Desktop:
Open your preferred search engine and type www.twitter.com in the address bar located at the top of the search engine and click "Enter" button you will switch directly to the Twitter Log on the page. You need to provide your Twitter Log in id and password to open a Twitter account.
If you are not already logged into your Twitter account, you will be required to Sign up.
Go to More:
Once you logged into your Twitter account, you will be navigated to the Twitter homepage. Further, you will be required to click the "More" option located at the left bottom side of the homepage.
"On the left bottom of the homepage, you will find a list of options where you can select any tab as per your needs or preferences. "If you are practicing the process to delete a Twitter account, you need to click on the "More" tab.
Click Settings and Privacy:
From the "More" option, you will be prompted with various options located on the left side of the page. There, you need to click, "Settings & Privacy" option to proceed further.
Deactivate Your Account:
Once you click on the "Settings & Privacy" tab, you will have a page with "Settings," "General," "Account," and "Data & permissions" tabs, under which you will find multiple options to choose. There, you need to look for the "Deactivate your account" option under the data and permission tab.
If you click the "Deactivate your account" tab, you will be prompted with a new page, where you will find all the important instructions and information about deactivating your Twitter account.
Here, you need to read the instructions carefully; after reading all the instructions, you will be required to click the " Deactivate" option located at the bottom of the page.
Finally, your account is successfully deactivated.
Delete Twitter Account on Android/iOS:
Go to your mobile phone application (Android/iOS) and find the Twitter app. Once you find the Twitter app, tap on it- it would be a blue color icon with a white bird inscribed on it. Doing this will redirect you to the Twitter main page.
If you are not already logged into your Twitter account, you need to enter your login credentials to proceed next.
Go to your Profile Picture:
Once you logged into your Twitter account, you need to tap on your profile icon located at the top left corner of the page.
Tap Settings and Privacy:
From the profile option, you will be prompted to a new page where you will have a list of various options. There, you need to tap on, "Settings & privacy" option.
If you tap on the "Settings and Privacy" option, you will be taken on a new page where you need to select the "Account" option, which will present all the options related to settings of your Twitter account.
Deactivate Your Account:
On the "Account's" page, you have to scroll down the page. Here, you will find The "Deactivate your account" option.
Once you get the option, tap on it, after which you will have to read all essential guidelines and information carefully regarding deactivating your account. Here, you need to tap on the "Deactivate" option to complete the process.
If you have any doubt in your mind regarding your twitter account deactivation process, means whether your decision of deleting Twitter account was right, you can recover it easily, but you have one and only option to recover your account within 30 days; otherwise you won't be able to recover your previous content, username or anything else related to your Twitter account.