Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

List of African Countries

Africa is known to be the second-largest continent in the world after Asia. It also stands second in terms of population. There are in total 54 countries on the African continent.


The human species is believed to emerge from Africa, which is considered the oldest continent. It is believed that after the evolution of humans from apes majority of them were hunters. Later on, some of the groups left Africa to habitat across the world.

The Sahara around 10,500 BC was believed to have been a green fertile land but around 5000 BC the dry climate had started to become evident. Around 3300 BC in northern Africa, a rise in literacy was seen especially in the Pharaonic civilization. The Pharaonic civilization is said to be one of the long-lasting civilizations.

The slave trading that was practiced for a long time, noticed a rise in the 15th to 19th century. The independence movement in Africa seemed to have started after World War II. At present Africa consists of 54 sovereign countries, and these borders seem to be the same as that of European colonialism. The African states seem to be affected because of the colonialism that caused corruption, violence, and authoritarianism.

About Africa

The African Continent is divided into two parts by the equator. While one half lies on the tropic of Cancer other part lies on the tropic of Capricorn. Africa is rich in minerals that include fossil fuels, metallic ores, gems and precious metals.

Africa is divided into different regions, which are described below;

Northern Africa

Northern Africa includes the following African countries;

  1. Algeria
  2. Egypt
  3. Libya
  4. Morocco
  5. Tunisia
  6. Western Sahara

The northern side of Africa is surrounded by the Mediterranean sea and the North Atlantic ocean.

The Sahel (region of western and north-central Africa)

The Sahel consists of the following countries:

  1. Chad
  2. Mali
  3. Mauritania
  4. Niger
  5. Sudan

This area of Africa consists of various nomadic life and pyramids and even mosques.

Western Africa

Western Africa consists of the following countries:

  1. Benin
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cameroon
  4. cape Verde
  5. Cote d'Ivoire
  6. Gambia
  7. Ghana
  8. Guinea
  9. Guinea-Bissau
  10. Liberia
  11. Nigeria
  12. Senegal
  13. Sierra Leone
  14. Togo

This is the most developing area in Africa.

Central Africa

Central Africa consists of the following countries:

  1. Angola
  2. Central African republic
  3. Republic of the Congo
  4. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  5. Equatorial Guinea
  6. Gabon
  7. Sao Tome and Principe
  8. South Sudan

This area contains the world's second-largest jungle - the Congo forest.

East Africa

East Africa consists of the following countries:

  1. Burundi
  2. Comoros
  3. Djibouti
  4. Eritrea
  5. Ethiopia
  6. Kenya
  7. Madagascar
  8. Mauritius
  9. Mayotte
  10. Reunion
  11. Rwanda
  12. Seychelles
  13. Somalia
  14. Tanzania
  15. Uganda

The eastern African premise is surrounded by the red sea and the Indian Ocean.

Southern Africa

Southern Africa consists of the following countries:

  1. Botswana
  2. Lesotho
  3. Malawi
  4. Mozambique
  5. Namibia
  6. South Africa
  7. Eswatini
  8. Zambia
  9. Zimbabwe

This place is mainly influenced by Europeans.

African Countries' list with Region

Sr. No. African Region Country Name
1. Northern Africa Algeria
2. Northern Africa Egypt
3. Northern Africa Libya
4. Northern Africa Morocco
5. Northern Africa Tunisia
6. Northern Africa Western Sahara
7. West Africa Benin
8. West Africa Burkina Faso
9. West Africa Cape Verde
10. West Africa Côte d'Ivoire
11. West Africa Gambia
12. West Africa Ghana
13. West Africa Guinea
14. West Africa Guinea Bissau
15. West Africa Liberia
16. West Africa Mali
17. West Africa Mauritania
18. West Africa Niger
19. West Africa Nigeria
20. West Africa Senegal
21. West Africa Sierra Leone
22. West Africa Togo
23. Central Africa Angola
24. Central Africa Cameroon
25. Central Africa Central Africa Republic
26. Central Africa Chad
27. Central Africa Congo, Rep.
28. Central Africa Congo, Dem. Rep.
29. Central Africa Equatorial Guinea
30. Central Africa Gabon
31. Central Africa Sao Tome & Principe
32. East Africa Burundi
33. East Africa Comoros
34. East Africa Djibouti
35. East Africa Eritrea
36. East Africa Ethiopia
37. East Africa Kenya
38. East Africa Madagascar
39. East Africa Malawi
40. East Africa Mauritius
41. East Africa Mozambique
42. East Africa Reunion
43. East Africa Rwanda
44. East Africa Seychelles
45. East Africa Somalia and Somaliland
46. East Africa South Sudan
47. East Africa Tanzania
48. East Africa Uganda
49. East Africa Zambia
50. East Africa Zimbabwe
51. South Africa Botswana
52. South Africa Lesotho
53. South Africa Nambia
54. South Africa South Africa

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA