Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

Rajasthan University

Rajasthan University, formally known as the University of Rajasthan, was established on 8 January 1947 in the pink city Jaipur. It was initially named the University of Rajputana, but later in the year 1956, it was renamed as University of Rajasthan. It is among the oldest universities in India. It is a state university and is recognized by the University Grant Commission. The University Grant Commission recognizes it, and NAAC has given it 'A' Grade accreditation. This university has also signed several MoUs with different international universities for research programs and undertaking collaborative.

Rajasthan University

The motto of Rajasthan University is Dharmo Vishwasya Jagatah Pratishtha. The Chancellor of the University is the Governor of the state, Kalraj Mishra, and the Vice-Chancellor of the University is Rajeev Jain.


Rajasthan University

The need for a separate university in Rajasthan was felt long back in British India. The initiation of efforts to establish a university for Rajputana started when the Allahabad University Act of 1921 was passed. The colleges in Jodhpur, Ajmer, and Jaipur were then affiliated with the University of Allahabad, and their location was controversial. In 1927 the colleges of erstwhile Rajputana were affiliated with the Agra University after it was established.

After a gap of 20 years, the initiation of efforts was again made by the Prime Minister of the Jaipur, Sir Mirza Ismail, when he appointed Special Education Officer J.C. Rollo for this purpose. Later in December 1946, the successor of Sir Mirza Ismail in office, Sir V.T Krishnamachari, initiated the talk with the representatives of Jodhpur, Jaipur, Udaipur Aiwar, and Bikaner. All of them agreed to establish a university at Jaipur. The temporary office of the university was established in the Fort of Kesargarh.

The Maharaja of Jaipur at that time, Sawai Man Singh, granted an extensive site of more than 300 acres for the foundation of the university. Dr. G.S. Mahajani was appointed as the first Vice-Chancellor of the Rajasthan University, who was Principal of Ferguson College, Poona (now Pune), and also a member of the Servants of India Society. He also suggested the motto of the university, which the Executive Council accepted. Shri C. Rajagopalachari, on 20 February 1949, laid the foundation stone of the University Campus.


Rajasthan University

The campus of the University is located at the Jawaharlal Marg Nehru which is the Center of the city and is built on over 706 acres of land. This area is also known as the central spine of Jaipur city. It has 37 departments, 9 faculties, 18 research centers, constituent colleges, and 534 colleges affiliated with the university. The seven constituent colleges of the university are

  • University Commerce College
  • University Rajasthan College
  • University Five Year Law College
  • University Law College
  • University Law College II
  • University Maharani College
  • University Maharaja College

The campus also has hostel facilities with all the necessary amenities, such as a medical facility that includes dispensaries of Ayurvedic, Homeopathic, and Allopathic medicine. This central library has a collection of 4.7 lakh books and a seating capacity of 400 students, computer labs, laboratories, canteen, and sports ground, etc.

Courses and Admission

Rajasthan University

The University of Rajasthan offers various courses at the undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral levels in different disciplines and areas of study. It offers courses in the field of Engineering & Technology, Arts, Law, Science, Commerce, Management, Education, etc. There are two different modes of admission to the University. For admission to undergraduate courses, the merit list is released by the university. In contrast, for admission in the postgraduate courses, one needs to pass the entrance test conducted by the university or obtain the required marks in the national level entrance test. Those who are willing to take admission in LLB need to pass the entrance exam of RULET. The university also accepts the scores of MAT/CAT, GATE, CMAT, NET-JRF, etc. For admission in doctoral courses, University accepts the marks obtained in the MPAT entrance test followed by an interview.

Scholarships and Placements

There are many different scholarships that different departments of the University offer. Some of the scholarships offered are

  • Daya Krishna Scholarship
  • Sukhdev Shashtri Darshan Puruskar
  • Sogani, Thakuria & Rajni Singh Memorial Award
  • Prof V.N Pathak Memorial needs cum merit scholarship
  • Ghanshyam Srivastava Commemoration Scholarship
  • Rukmani Devi Mishra Scholarship
  • Vimla Gupta Memorial Scholarship
  • ONGC Scholarship

There are many other scholarships for SC and ST students that central and state governments are granting. Students can avail themselves if they are eligible and follow the procedures.

Rajasthan University has a dedicated Placement Cell for career counselling and placement drives. This cell also conducts mock interviews and helps students to build a resume. Every year many top companies visit the campus for recruitment. The highest package that was offered last year was ?6 lakh per annum. Some of the companies that visit the campus are - Adecco, Oyster, Girnar, Genpact, Swiggy, Reliance, etc.

Notable Alumni

Some of the notable alumni of this university are

  • Ramkumar Singh- Fiction writer, Journalist, Screenwriter
  • Vidyadhar Bhushan Sharma- Former Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court
  • Vibhuti Bhushan Sharma - Additional Advocate General, Government of Rajasthan
  • Jainendra K.Jain - Professor of Physics at Pennsylvania State University
  • D.P. Sharma - Research Professor, Digital Diplomat & International Consultant (IT), ILO-UN & National Ambassador, Swachh Bharat Mission, Government of India.

Next TopicAnna University

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA