Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of SEBI

SEBI: Securities and Exchange Board of India

SEBI stands for Securities and Exchange Board of India. It was established on 12 April 1992 to regulate the securities market of India.

SEBI full form


SEBI is headquartered in Mumbai. It has four regional offices New Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata and Ahmadabad. SEBI has opened local offices at Jaipur and Bangalore and planning to open offices at Guwahati, Bhubaneshwar, Patna, Kochhi and Chandigarh.


SEBI was established by Government of India on 12 April 1988. It had been given statuary powers in 1992 with SEBI Act 1992 passed by the Indian Government.


SEBI is managed by its members. Those members are:

Chairman: He is nominated by Union Government of India.

Eight Members: Out of eight, two members are the officers from the Union Finance Ministry, one member from the Reserve Bank of India and the remaining five members are nominated by Union Government of India.

Note: Out of these eight members, three must be whole-time members.

Powers of SEBI

SEBI is incorporated with some necessary powers to function properly. These powers are:

  • Check the books of accounts of financial intermediaries.
  • Imposes fees and other charges on the intermediaries for performing its function.
  • Ensure certain companies to list their shares in one or more stock exchanges.


The main objective of SEBI is to protect the interest of investors in securities and promote the development of securities market.

Next TopicFull Form

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA