Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

Web Service Components

There are three major web service components.

  1. SOAP
  2. WSDL
  3. UDDI


SOAP is an acronym for Simple Object Access Protocol.

SOAP is a XML-based protocol for accessing web services.

SOAP is a W3C recommendation for communication between applications.

SOAP is XML based, so it is platform independent and language independent. In other words, it can be used with Java, .Net or PHP language on any platform.


WSDL is an acronym for Web Services Description Language.

WSDL is a xml document containing information about web services such as method name, method parameter and how to access it.

WSDL is a part of UDDI. It acts as a interface between web service applications.

WSDL is pronounced as wiz-dull.


UDDI is an acronym for Universal Description, Discovery and Integration.

UDDI is a XML based framework for describing, discovering and integrating web services.

UDDI is a directory of web service interfaces described by WSDL, containing information about web services.

Next TopicSoap Web Services

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA