Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

Difference between State and Union Territory

State territory and union territory both belong to one nation. We can say that a nation is divided into state and union territories. Although, both belong to one nation, they are different from each other in terms of their size, population, administration, law and order, and more. They are described below along with the major differences between them.

State vs Union Territory

Union Territories

Union territories are not independent units as they do not have their own government. They remain under the central government. For example, the rules and regulations of the Indian government are applied to union territories. The President of India nominates one administrator or lieutenant governor to each union territory. The administrator of Andaman, Nicobar, Delhi, and Pondicherry is called lieutenant governor or LG. The Government Officer of Chandigarh, Dadar, Nagar Haveli, div Daman is called as administrator.

Union Territories may or may not have a Council of Ministers and a Legislative Assembly. Delhi and Pondicherry have their own Legislative Assembly and Council of Ministers. But the rights of these two are very limited, and in some cases, they have rights. Whatever bill is passed in these legislative assemblies, approval has to be taken from the president. And to make some special laws, they have to take approval from the central government.

Why are Union Territories created?

1. Geographical reasons:

There were regions that were part of India legally but located far away from India. Therefore, such regions cannot be considered part of any neighbouring state. Besides this, according to the population and area, they are so small that they could not be given separate statehood. So, due to these limitations, they are made Union Territories, e.g., Andaman, Nicobar and Lakshadweep.

2. Cultural reasons:

The Union Territories are also formed based on cultural reasons. Sometimes to maintain a unique cultural identity of a place, it is declared as union territories such as Dadar, Nagar Haveli, and Pondicherry.

These regions were ruled by the European countries and France for a long time. That's why the culture here is similar to their culture. One special thing about Pondicherry is that its four districts are close to different states. Mahe is near Kerala, Yanam is near Andhra Pradesh, Pondicherry and Karaikal are near Tamil Nadu. In such a situation, it was better for the town to be declared a union territory.

3. Political or administrative reasons:

Union Territories are also made from Political and Administrative Region. New Delhi and Chandigarh are examples. In India, New Delhi has been kept separate from any state like Washington that is the capital of America. From 1956 to 1991, Delhi was a Union Territory, but in 1991, on the basis of the 69th amendment in the Constitution, Delhi should get the status of NCT (National Capital Territory of Delhi). So, New Delhi also got its own cabinet and chief minister system like Pondicherry.

The lieutenant governor is appointed in Delhi, which is done by the Central Government. This state is run by the coordination of the lieutenant governor and cabinet. In another case, Chandigarh was the capital of Punjab till 1966. But after the formation of Haryana in 1966, Punjab or Haryana wanted Chandigarh to be their capital. No one was ready to leave their pitches. In that situation, Chandigarh was made the capital of both the states by making it a union territory.

State Territory

A state territory is an independent unit as it has its own elected government and is run by the state legislature. It is administered by the chief minister which is elected through elections in the state. It has a large geographical area and large population as compared to union territories. Parliament cannot make laws for states. The executive head of a state is the governor.

Difference between State and Union Territory

State territory Union territory
It is an independent unit with its own elected government. It is not an independent unit and is ruled by the central government.
It is large in area. It is small in area.
The population is generally more than union territories. It has less population as compared to state territory.
Elections are conducted. Elections do not occur.
Administered by the chief minister. Administered by the lieutenant governor.
Chief Minister is elected through an election. The administrator is appointed by the president. It is the lieutenant governor of the union territory.
It has its own elected government. It lacks its own government and is controlled by the central government.
Governor is the head. It is headed by the president.
It has more power than a union territory. All the power are in the hand of the central government.
There are 29 state territories in India. There are 9 union territories.
Example: Assam, Goa, Punjab, Haryana, etc. Example: Delhi, Pondicherry, Chandigarh, etc.

Next TopicDifference between

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA