Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of CET

CET: Common Eligibility Test

CET stands for Common Eligibility Test. As the full form depicts it is an examination taken in India for recruitment in various posts. The examination helps in the recruitment of staff at non-gazetted posts in the public sector banks, Central Government [group B and C (non-technical)] and Indian railways.

CET full form

The selection exam is conducted by a national body, namely National Recruitment Agency. It acts as a central agency for recruitment purposes for the Government of India. The decision to replace various entrance or selection exams and create a National Recruitment Agency was approved on August 19, 2020, by the Union Cabinet. And the exam was first conducted in 2021.

About the Organizer

National Recruitment Agency was formed on 19 August 2020, with its headquarters in Delhi. It acts as a central recruitment agency. It is given birth by the Government of India and it will be the whole and sole authority to conduct the Common Eligibility Test for selection to all of the Government of India's Group 'C' employee and Group 'D' employee posts in all of the establishments of the union government. The establishments include all of the central autonomous bodies and all of the central public sector units. The Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Railways, SSC and RRB have representatives in the National Recruitment Agency for facilitation.

Previously the examination of recruitment to all of the Group 'D' and Group 'C' posts under the Union Government such as ministries, Indian Railways, organizations and all central public sector units, etc. were held individually by respective organizations. Although most of these posts required similar educational qualifications. These multiple examinations caused a financial burden to pay examination fees multiple times and to travel for appearing in the exam. The Common Eligibility Test when replaced all these exams and saved the candidates energy and time focusing on multiple examinations and filling out multiple forms. Hence to avoid these problems, the proposal to set up National Recruitment Agency was mentioned by the finance minister, Nirmala Sitharaman, in her budget speech for the year 2020-21 on 1 February 2020.

About the Conduct of Exam

It is decided that the Common Eligibility Test will be taken thrice for three different levels. One for the matriculated (10th passed), one for the higher secondary (12th passed) and the other for the graduates for various non-technical posts. Before the inclusion or the development of the National Recruitment Agency, such tests were being conducted by SSC, IBPS, Railways, and various other organizations, each conducting their own individually.

This examination is conducted at the respective centre of the candidate in an online mode. Also, the application process for the exam is online itself. It is also specified that the exam will be held in multiple choice objective type questions format. This examination is held in 12 languages, out of the 22 languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India, out there. The examination is held twice a year. The scores of the test would be valid for the upcoming three years from the date of result declaration.

If the candidate gives the Common Eligibility Test multiple times then the best of all the scores would be considered the current score of the particular candidate. The CET scores of each candidate would be communicated to the central government, union territories, state government, private sector and public sector undertakings which can also be made in use for recruitment in their respective departments and agencies and companies. Although there is no limit on the number of attempts by any candidate, the upper age limit is set, with relaxations for the candidates of SC/ST/OBC and other categories as per the reservation policy of the Government.

Exams Replaced by CET

The top three government exams replaced by the Common Eligibility Test are Staff Selection Commission (SSC), Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS), and NTPC Railway Recruitment Board (RRB).

Examination Centers

For the ease of the candidates, there is at least one examination centre in each district, and around 1000 examination centers in total are generally made.

Exam Pattern

The National Recruitment Agency's Common Eligibility Test Exam Pattern has not been officially released. However, it is expected in the following four sections with each section carrying 50 questions and duration to be 2 hours.

  1. Reasoning and General Intelligence.
  2. General Knowledge and awareness.
  3. Aptitude.
  4. Comprehension
  5. English language.

Next TopicFull Form

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA