Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the full form of ECR

ECR: Emigration Check Required

ECR stands for Emigration Check Required. It is related to the type of passport. Your passport can be either ECR (Emigration Check Required) type or Non-ECR or ECNR (Emigration Check Not Required) type. It depends on the following two conditions:

ECR Full Form
  1. If a person who has applied for the passport does not provide his or her matriculation certificate, the case may be that he has not passed the 10th class (Matriculation), his or her passport will be of ECR types, or it will fall under ECR category, i.e., it will have a stamp of ECR.
  2. A person who has passed the 10th class (Matriculation) and provides his 10th class certificate for the passport, then his or her passport will be of Non-ECR or ECNR type. So, if you are 10th pass, by default you are eligible for ECNR category passport.

A passport that falls under ECR category will have listed it clearly with either a stamp or notation or full text "EMIGRATION CHECK REQUIRED." For passport before Jan 2007, it used to be a stamp, but for the latest passports, there may be a text written/endorsement in the address page of the passport. So if there is no ECR stamp in your passport, it means ECNR (Emigration Check not required).

How to check if ECR is required?

When you fill an Indian passport application form, you will come across a question, "are you eligible for Non-ECR Category" And you have to select 'Yes' or 'No.' if you have not passed 10th class or don't have matriculation certificate to submit, you have to select 'NO.' Thus, your passport will be of Non-ECR or ECNR (Emigration Check Not Required) type.

Bottom line:

An ECR passport is issued to people who do not attach their 10th class mark sheet in their passport application form.

NON-ECR category passport is issued to those who attach the 10th or higher studies mark sheet in their passport.

What is Emigration?

When a person goes to a foreign country regarding employment, then it is called immigration, and the person is called emigrant.

If you are going to a foreign country for treatment, study, or as a tourist, but not for employment, the type of passport (ECR or NON-ECR) does not make any difference. But, if you are going for employment in any of the following eighteen countries, you have to take clearance from immigration counter if you have an ECR passport:

  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA)
  • Qatar
  • Oman
  • Kuwait
  • Bahrain
  • Brunel
  • Malaysia
  • Jordan
  • Sudan
  • Yemen
  • Libya
  • Afghanistan
  • Indonesia
  • Lebanon
  • Syria
  • Thailand
  • Iraq.

Purpose of ECR:

The ECR is introduced for the protection and welfare of Indian workers who are unskilled, uneducated, and thus are vulnerable to exploitation while working in a foreign country. So, Emigration check or clearance acts as a safety measure that ensures that people going abroad for employment will not be duped. Emigration clearance is granted after verifying offered salary, working terms and conditions of the employment. Furthermore, as per the Emigration Act 1983, the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs takes care of the emigration and return of the emigrants.

The Emigration Check Types:

Some nations require their residents to undergo passport emigration checks before entering another nation. These checks could involve things like a financial assessment, a health examination, or a look into a person's criminal history. Although the various needed emigration checks can be perplexing, they are all crucial to making sure you are secure when leaving.

Passport emigration inspections are generally divided into three categories: criminal, health, and financial. Each has unique conditions that must be satisfied in order for the check to be completed and for your passport to be considered valid for travel.

You must undergo a criminal emigration check if you are going to a nation with a high crime rate. Your past criminal background will be examined, and you might need to submit supporting paperwork, including court records or police reports.

If you are moving to a country where you run the risk of contracting diseases or illnesses, you must undergo a health emigration check. Your medical history will be examined as part of this check, and you might need to submit supporting documents such as hospital records or doctor's notes.

You must undergo a financial emigration check if you are going to a place where the local currency is not accepted as legal tender. Your finances will be examined, and you might be asked to submit supporting documents such as bank statements or tax returns.

How Should You Proceed If Your Passport Is Lost or Stolen?

Contacting the embassy or consulate of your current or future destination is the recommended line of action if your passport has been lost or stolen. They will be able to give you the paperwork you need to get a new passport, maybe including an emigration check. In some circumstances, you can also be asked to present more evidence, like a police report or court order demonstrating that you genuinely misplaced the passport.

When must I obtain an immigration check?

You will require emigration check if you are departing the US. This is proof of your departure from the United States and demonstrates that you have the resources to maintain yourself while you're away. Any American embassy or consulate in your country of residence can provide you with an emigration check.

What advantages do emigration checks offer?

The emigration office will give you an emigration check to verify that you are authorized to depart the country. The letter should include a complete list of your reasons for leaving, such as a work transfer or marriage.

Receiving an emigration check has the following benefits: - It can speed up the visa application process and expedite the immigration process. - It verifies that your government is aware of and approves of your intentions. Obtaining an emigration check can assist youngsters who are still in school with finishing their education outside of their place of origin. Emigration checks can also assist you in avoiding potential issues when travelling abroad, such as being denied entry into another nation or having your income from living abroad taxed.

Get an emigration check. Are there any drawbacks?

Obtaining an emigration check on a passport may have numerous drawbacks. These examinations may take up to six weeks, which could cause a trip delay. Furthermore, certain nations might not recognize emigration checks as acceptable forms of identification.

It's critical to understand that a passport must undergo an emigration check if you intend to leave your nation. Although it might be expensive and time-consuming to complete, this check is one of the necessities for seeking to leave your own country. By reading this article, you may ensure that you are prepared to avoid incurring costs or experiencing unwanted stress throughout the relocation process.

Next TopicFull Forms List

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA