Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

What is the Full Form of NMMSS

NMMSS: National Means Cum-Merit Scholarship

NMMSS stands for National Means- cum - Merit Scholarship Scheme. National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSSS)" is a centrally sponsored scheme that was introduced in May of 2008. It is administered through the Department of School Education & Literacy under the Ministry of Human Resource Development. The purpose of the program is to grant scholarships to the most meritorious students from lower income groups to prevent the dropout rate in 8th grade and to encourage them to study in secondary school. A scholarship of Rs. 12000/- per year (Rs.1000 each month) is given to students selected each year to study in classes from IX to XII at States Government, Government-aided, and local bodies schools.

NMMSS Full Form

There are scholarships available for various states/UTs. Students whose parents' revenue from every source isn't greater than the amount of Rs. 150,000 are able to receive the scholarships. There is a reservation as per State government norms. The awarding of scholarships is conducted through an examination administered by the State governments. The scholarship funds are paid out through the State Bank of India directly into the student's bank accounts on a quarterly basis.

Students who are studying in "Kendriya Vidalayas" and "Jawahar Vavodaya Vidlayas" are not eligible for the scholarship offered through this program. In the same way, students who study in residential schools run by State Government Institutions, where accommodation, boarding as well as education are available, and students attending private schools aren't eligible for the scholarship offered in this program.

NMMSS - Objective

It was established in May 2008 to inspire bright and marginalized students to finish their secondary and upper secondary levels of education in order to reduce the rate of dropout in schools after the 8th grade. Each year, students from the 9-12 grades are tested to take two different levels of the test at the State level to benefit from the National Means-Cum Merit Scholarship. It is meant for students in classes 9-12 who are regular students of government schools.

NMMSS - Award

NMMSS awards the total amount of 100,000 scholarships each year, at a rate of INR 12000 a year, i.e., 1,000 INR per month, to students who are selected. The National Means-Cum Merit Scholarship provides the scholarship amount through the State bank of India (SBI) in one lump sum. The funds are directly transferred to the student's accounts via the Public Financial Management System (PFMS). The number of scholarships that are allocated to each state and UT is calculated by analyzing the number of students enrolled in classes 7 and 8 and their total population in the respective states.

The specifics of the NMMSS amount are listed below.

Students in class 9 are awarded the amount of a scholarship on one occasion, i.e., INR 12000 per annum during the academic year following enrollment on the NSP portal.

This scholarship will be renewed each year until the student has completed the Higher Secondary level of schooling (Class 12) in the event that the student is promoted to a higher class each year.

Eligibility Criteria

There are various criteria that students must keep in mind when applying for the NMMSS test. Please ensure the following conditions before taking the NMMSS test-

  • The applicants who are applying to the NMMSS should be Indian citizens.
  • Students must attend 8th grade in a recognized school, either a government or private one in India.
  • The minimum marks required in the 8th standard are 55%. (50% for reserved categories)
  • The income of parents should not exceed INR 1.50 Lakhs per annum.
  • Students who attend residential schools operated by state-owned institutions that provide amenities like lodging, boarding, and education are also eligible.


The most crucial thing while preparing for the NMMSS test includes an understanding of the NMMSS syllabus. The talent search test is conducted for students in the 10th class. Students who are eligible to take the test must be younger than 18 years of age and be in the 10th class. NMMSS is comprised of two tests: Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT).

1. Mental Ability Test (MAT)

It tests students' ability to think and reason critically by presenting 90 MCQs (Multiple-Choice Tests). The most important subjects covered include classification, analogy patterns, numerical series, recognition, hidden images, etc.

2. Scholastic Ability Test (SAT)

Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) is comprised of 90 multiple choice questions covering social studies, science, and maths as per the syllabus for classes 7 and 8.

Performance of the Scheme

A study evaluation conducted by the National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA) in 2017 found that around 70.1 percent of the students who received this scholarship could not complete their studies without this award.

Furthermore, students chosen under NMMSS have better results in Class IX, Class X, and XII in order to keep receiving the scholarship for the following four years.

Next TopicFull Form

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA