Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

Software Development Life Cycle(SDLC)

The systems development life cycle is also known as the application development life-cycle. It is a method which is used in systems engineering, information systems, and software engineering to define a procedure for analyzing, developing, testing and deploying a software project. There are six stages in this cycle: Planning and analysis, Defining Requirements, Implementation, Developing, Testing, Deployment, and Maintenance.

Software Development Life Cycle(SDLC)

The stages of SDLC are as follows:

Stage1: Planning and requirement analysis

It is the first phase in SDLC. It is performed by the seniors of the team. They work on the inputs from the customers, market surveys of the industry. After that, this information is used to plan the project approach. Then senior members conduct the feasibility study in the economical, operational and technical areas.

The outcome of the feasibility study is to define the approaches which can be followed to implement the project successfully.

Stage2: Defining Requirements

When the requirement analysis is complete, the next phase is defining requirements. In this phase, the team clearly explain and document the project requirements and get them approved from the customer and market surveys. The whole process finished through SRS( Software Requirement Specification).

Stage3: Designing the Architect

The next phase is about to bring down all the knowledge of requirements, analysis and design of the software project. This phase is the product of the last two phases like inputs from the customer and requirement gathering.

Stage4: Developing the project

The actual development starts in this phase of SDLC. The implementation of design begins concerning writing code. High-level languages such a C, C++, Pascal, Java and PHP used for coding. The programming language selection depends on the type of software which is going to developed.

Stage5: Testing

This one is the last phase of SDLC before the software is handover to the customers. The testers purpose to search defects within the system as well as verifying whether the application performs as expected and according to what documented in the requirements analysis phase.

This cycle repeated until all the requirements tested and all the defects have fixed, and the software is ready to be shipped.

Stage6: Deployment and Maintenance

When the software tested, and no issues or error remain in the software, it is time to deploy to production where the customer can use the software.

When a version of the software is free to production, there is usually a maintenance team that looks after any post-production problems.

Next TopicSDLC Models

Please Share

facebook twitter google plus pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


B.Tech / MCA