Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

Allahabad University

Allahabad University is a central collegiate university that was established on September 23, 1887, in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh, by an Act of Parliament. A collegiate university's function is divided between a number of constituent colleges and a central administration. The motto of this university is "As Many Branches So Many Trees". The University of Allahabad is recognized as the Institute of National Importance. It is among the oldest modern university in India. It was William Muir, the Lt. Governor of North-Western Provinces, who suggested establishing a central university at Allahabad. Allahabad University was once popular as Oxford of the East.

The Chancellor of the university is Ashish Chauhan, and its Vice-Chancellor is Sangita Srivastava.

Allahabad University


The origin of the university lies in the University of Muir Central College. In 1873 its foundation was laid by Lord Northbrook, the then Governor-General of India. The William Muir Lt. Governor inspired the name of the college. Initially, it functioned under the University of Calcutta. On September 23, 1887, Allahabad University was established as the fifth university of colonial India after Bombay University, Calcutta University, Lahore's Punjab University, and Madras University.

By 1904 teaching departments and instituted doctoral research program was established in the university. The Muir Central College merged with the university by the announcement of the Allahabad University Act of 1921. It was recognized as a unitary teaching and residential university. Allahabad university-recognized many local institutions as associated colleges in 1951 and authorized them to teach undergraduate courses under the Faculty of Science, Law, Arts, and Commerce.

Allahabad University

The state government accorded it formal recognition as a Premier Institution (Vishesh Agrani Sanstha) in July 1992. This decision was taken keeping in view its achievements and position among universities in Uttar Pradesh.

During the Centenary Celebrations of the University of Allahabad in 1987, its faculty, employee, and students demanded granting the status of a Central University. Union cabinet decided to restore its status as a central university in 2004, and it was finally restored through The University of Allahabad Act 2005 by the Parliament of India. This act also declared it an Institution of National Importance.


Allahabad University

William Emerson designed the building in a combination of Indo Saracenic, Gothic and Egyptian styles. He also designed the famous Victoria Memorial and Crawford Market. The campus is spread around the city in the area of Bank Road and Old Karta. The campus of the university has 5 major faculties that are Arts, Science, Commerce, Management, and Law. It also has many residential hostels for its students. The campus of the university provides all the necessary facilities and amenities to its students.

  • University Health Center - For the medical care and need of the students' employees, there is one homeopathy doctor, and 2 ambulances for the emergency.
  • Central Library - The University has its own library with subscriptions of 268 journals, out of which 92 are foreign, and 137 are Indian. It also provides access to E-Resources, e-journals, and 14 e-database. It has more than 7.40 lakh books and 2300 digital books.
  • Computer Center - To assists its students and teacher in their research work, there is a centralized computer Center. It also organizes short-term courses.
  • Hostel Facility - The university campus has 3 separate hostels for girls and boys, and the hostel for international students is under construction.
  • Gandhi Bhawan - It is a well-equipped conference hall for discussion and deliberation. Sprawling lawns with lotus are also part of it. There is also a mandapam for Yoga, meditation, and spiritual hymns.
  • Others - It also provides its student military training through National Cadet Corps, and it has 2 dynamic units of NCC. To make its students understand the importance of social work and actions, it also encourages its students to join National Service Scheme.

Admission and Courses

Allahabad University

Currently, there are 11 colleges that work under Allahabad University. It offers full times courses in graduate, postgraduate, diploma, and a doctorate in the furled of different subjects like Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Accounting and Commerce, Business and Management Studies, Law, IT & Software, Teaching and Education, Engineering and Design. It has 32 academic departments offering 130+ courses.

Admission procedure in the university includes the different entrance tests conducted by the university, such as UGAT, UPCET, PGAT, CRET, and LFAT. It also takes admission of the students who qualify for GATE and UGC NET. The university has well-renowned faculty members who have in-depth knowledge and experience. There are 300+ regular faculty and 860+ sanctioned teaching staff. The list of colleges that are affiliated with Allahabad University are-

  • Allahabad Degree College
  • Chaudhary Mahadeo Prasad Post Graduate College
  • Govind Ballabh Pant Social Science Institute
  • Arya Kanya Degree College
  • Ewing Christian College
  • Hamidia Girl's Degree College
  • Ishwar Saran Degree College
  • P Training College
  • Jagat Taran Girl's Degree College
  • Rajarshi Tandon Girl's Degree College
  • P.M Government Degree College
  • S Khanna Girl's Degree College

Ranking and Accreditation

The university is approved by University Grant Commission and recognized by NCTE. NAAC accredits it with B++. It was kept between the rank bands of 401-450 in 2020 in Asia by QS ranking.

Scholarships and Placement

University has also signed many MoU with different universities such as the National Institute for Material Science- Japan, National Institute of Technology- Delhi, Aarhus University, University of Parken- Denmark, etc.

Along with this University also provides its student scholarship that ranges from ? 12,000 to ? 14,000, and it is offered based on merit and need-based. Apart from this, it also provides many other different scholarships like National Scholarships, Dr. Gorakh Prasad Memorial scholarship, Krishna Kumari Verma Memorial Award scholarship, Jawahar Bhawan Trust Scholarship, Krishnamurti & Manohar Lal Memorial Award, UGC scholarships, etc.

It also provides its students with the facility of a campus placement cell that actively helps students to get placed in a reputed company. During the Covid-19 pandemic, companies were actively recruiting students through video conferencing and telephonic calls. Over 50% of students get placed with a decent package every year. The top recruiters are Reliance Jio, WIPRO, TCS, Azim Premji Foundation, Sampark Foundation, Axis Bank, Prism Cement, Just Dial, ITC, HCL, etc.

Notable Alumni

As the University of Allahabad is among the oldest university in the country, there are many notable personalities that have studied here. Some of them are

  • Chandra Shekhar - former Prime Minister of India
  • Madan Mohan Malviya - Founder of Banaras Hindu University
  • Govind Vallabh Pant - former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
  • Shankar Dayal Sharma - Former President of India
  • Ranganath Misra - Former Chief Justice of India
  • Rajendra Bajpai - Former Union Minister and Lt. Governor of Pondicherry.

Next TopicPurdue University

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA