Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

List of Election Commissioner of India

Having been established as a democratic nation, India has adopted a constitutional form of government in which the people of India elect their representatives. The voting system has been in use since independence.

A self-governing democratic organization, the Election Commission of India (ECI) is responsible for overseeing the nation's electoral system, as stipulated by the Indian Constitution. Founded on January 25, 1950, the Election Commission of India (ECI) was tasked with designing and overseeing the multi-tiered electoral process in our nation.

Electoral processes for positions ranging from President of India to the State Legislative Assembly are overseen and administered by the Indian Election Commission (ECI). Following Article 324 of the Indian Constitution, ECI has total authority over the electoral system for every state's legislature and elections for the President, Vice President, and other high-ranking officials in India.

The Chief Election Commissioner of India (also known as the CEC) is in charge of the Election Commission of India, which is headed by him. Indian elections are overseen by the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), who is selected by the President of the country and serves for a term of six years or until they reach the age of 65, whichever comes first. The Chief Executive Officer of India is typically a member of the Indian Civil Service, with the majority of them coming from the Indian Administrative Service.

Role of ECI

When it comes to election administration, the ECI is critical. Indian elections must be conducted in accordance with applicable laws and the Model Code of Behavior, which sets a high standard of conduct for poll officials. It is tasked with keeping track of the acts and activities of political parties and candidates in the country.

Functions of ECI

  • It regulates political parties and certifies them according to their eligibility to compete in elections.
  • ECI is committed to ensuring a fair and impartial election.
  • Establishes a restriction on the amount of money that may be spent on a candidate's campaign and keeps track of it.
  • Political parties must file yearly reports to the Election Commission of India (ECI) to be eligible for the tax advantage on their donations. A full refund will be given in the case that they do not.
  • Ensures that all political parties are required to provide routinely audited accounting statements.
  • All elections for the House of Commons and state legislatures must be overseen, controlled, and conducted.
  • Establish electoral rolls.
  • Election emblems should be assigned to political parties or candidates.
  • Appoint tribunals to resolve any issues or disputes that may arise as a result of an election to the House of Commons or the State Legislatures.
  • Establish a set of broad guidelines for the election.

List of Election Commissioners of India

Chief Election Commissioner of India Tenure
S. No Name Tenure (From - To)
1 Sukumar Sen 21st March 1950 - 19 December 1958
2 K.V.K. Sundaram 20th December 1958 - 30th September 1967
3 S.P. Sen Verma 1st October 1967 - 30th September 1972
4 Dr. Nagendra Singh 1st October 1972 - 6th February 1973
5 T. Swaminathan 7th February 1973 - 17th June 1977
6 S.L. Shakdhar 18th June 1977 - 17th June 1982
7 R.K. Trivedi 18th June 1982 - 31st December 1985
8 R.V.S. Peri Sastri 1st January 1986 - 25th November 1990
9 V.S. Ramadevi November 26 1990 - 11th December 1990
10 T.N. Seshan 12th December 1990 - December 11 1996
11 M.S. Gill December 12 1996 - 13th June 2001
12 J.M. Lyngdoh June 14 2001 - February 7 2004
13 T.S. Krishnamurthy 8th February 2004 - May 15 2005
14 B.B. Tandon May 16 2005 - June 29 2006
15 N. Gopalaswami 30th June 2006 - April 20 2009
16 Navin Chawla April 21 2009 - July 29 2010
17 S.Y. Quraishi July 30 2010 - June 10 2012
18 V.S. Sampath June 11 2012 - January 15 2015
19 H.S. Brahma January 16 2015 - April 18 2015
20 Dr. Nasim Zaidi April 19 2015 - July 5 2017
21 Achal Kumar Jyoti July 6 2017 - January 22 2018
22 Om Prakash Rawat January 23 2018 - 1st December 2018
23 Sunil Arora December 2 2018 - April 12 2021
24 Sushil Chandra 13th April 2021 - Incumbent

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA