Javatpoint Logo
Javatpoint Logo

List of states in India

India is the second populous country in the world and the seventh-largest country globally in the term of land. India lies in the southern region of Asia. In this article, we will see the list of states present in India.

States in India

As India is one of the largest countries in the world, it becomes very difficult to manage such a large county from a single place. Therefore, the constitution of India provides the right to the central government to create new states in the Indian Political map whenever it feels suitable.

Let's see the number of total states (or Union Territories) in India. In this article, we will not only know about the total number of states or union territories present in India; we will also look at the brief history of the state's formation in India.

Current number of states/UTs in India

As of now, the total number of states is 28, and there are a total of 8 union territories in India. Each state and union territory of India has a legislative, administrative, and judicial capital. Some states have three different capitals for all three functionalities, and some states have a single capital in which all the three listed functions, i.e., legislative, administrative, and judicial, are conducted.

Every state and union territory of India is ruled by a separate chief minister elected through the legislative council's poll election.

History of states in India

Here, we have divided the history of the states of India into two categories, i.e., Pre-independence and Post-independence. We have further divided the post-independence category into two sub-categories, i.e., 1947-1950 & 1951-till now.

Pre-independence history of states:

The Indian subcontinent is not what it looks like today on its political map. It was ruled by different people of many different ethical groups through its history from the ancient period. Each of these rulers of India instituted their administrative policies for the administrative division in their ruled region.

During the British ruling time, they have made changes in the preceded administrative structure formed by the Mughals. They divided India into many provinces that were also called Presidencies at that time. The governors of the British directly ruled these presidencies or provinces that the Britishers formed.

Also, some princely states were present in India's sub-region at the time of the British Raj. The British government does not directly control these princely states, but they were ruled by a Prince or king loyal to the British government. The British government held suzerainty (de facto sovereignty) over these princely states.

The post-independence history of states:

1. From 1947 to 1950: During the period of 1947-50, the following changes came into the states of India:

The states that the governors of India previously controlled were now directly controlling Independent India, such as Hyderabad, Mysore, Bilaspur, and Bhopal.

At the time of British raj, the Princely states of India were also merged into the existing provinces in the political region of independent India.

Also, many other states are now organized into the new provinces or states such as Himachal Pradesh, Vindhya Bharat, Madhya Bharat, and Rajasthan, made up of multiple small princely states.

2. Since 1951 to present: The recognizing of states in India was first seen in India in the period of 1951-56. Pandit Jawal Lal Nehru, the first PM of Independent India, never favored creating separate states according to the culture of language of the people of that region. But many protests were held during 1951-1956 that led him and his government to change their mind.

Andhra Pradesh was the first state that was created from the Telegu-speaking districts of the northern region of Madras state (at that time). A lady sat on Fast until death to support the protest for the formation of Andhra Pradesh, and she died while fasting, which forced the government to listen to their demands, and that's how Andhra Pradesh (the first state-based of language and culture) was created.

After the formation of Andhra Pradesh, many linguistic states separated into two new different linguistic states, and other new states were also created, and that's how the political map of India has changed over time. India has formed 28 states and eight union territories since the new changes began in 1956.

List of states and UTs of India:

Following is a list providing you all the states & UTs with their capital. Additionally, we are also mentioning the names of the chief minister of all the states & Union Territories as of now in the list.

Look at the following list for the complete details of Indian states and UTs with their capital and Chief minister also:

S. No. Names of States & UTs Name of Capital Chief Minister of State/UT Formation Date of State or UT
1. Andhra Pradesh Amravati YS Jagan Mohan Reddy Nov 1st, 1956
2. Andaman & Nicobar Islands Port Blair Admiral (Retd) Devendra Kumar Joshi (Lt. Governor) Nov 1st, 1956
3. Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Pema Khandu Feb 20th, 1987
4. Assam Dispur Shri Himanta Biswa Sarma Jan 26th, 1950
5. Bihar Patna Shri Nitish Kumar Jan 26th, 1950
6. Chandigarh Chandigarh Shri. V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator) Nov 1st, 1966
7. Chhattisgarh Raipur Shri Bhupesh Baghel Nov 1st, 2000
8. Delhi NCT New Delhi Shri Arvind Kejriwal May 9th, 1905
9. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman Shri Praful Patel (Administrator) Jan 26th, 2020
10. Goa Panji Shri Pramod Sawant May 30th, 1987
11. Gujrat Gandhinagar Shri Vijaybhai R. Rupani May 1st, 1960
12. Haryana Chandigarh Shri Manohar Lal khattar Nov 1st, 1966
13. Himachal Pradesh Shimla Shri Jairam Thakur Jan 25th, 1971
14. Jammu & Kashmir Jammu (for winter) &Srinagar (For summer) Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor) Oct 31st, 2019
15. Jharkhand Ranchi Shri Hemant Soren Nov 15th, 2000
16. Karnataka Bengaluru Sri B. S. Yediyurappa Nov 1st, 1956
17. Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Shri Pinarayi Vijayan Nov 1st, 1956
18. Ladakh Leh Shri Radha Krishna Mathur (Lieutenant Governor) Oct 31st, 2019
19. Lakshadweep Kavaratti Shri Praful Patel (Administrator) Nov1st, 1956
20. Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Shri Shivraj Chauhan Nov 1st, 1956
21. Maharashtra Mumbai Shri Uddhav Thackeray May 1st, 1960
22. Manipur Imphal Shri N. Biren Singh Jan 21st, 1972
23. Meghalaya Shillong Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma Jan 21st, 1972
24. Mizoram Aizwal Shri Pu Zoramthanga Feb 20th, 1987
25. Nagaland Kohima Shri Neiphiu Rio Dec 1st, 1963
26. Odisha Bhubaneswar Shri Naveen Patnaik Jan 26th, 1950
27. Puducherry Pondicherry Shri N. Rangaswamy Nov 1st, 1954
28. Punjab Chandigarh Shri Capt. Amarinder Singh Nov 1st, 1956
29. Rajasthan Jaipur Shri Ashok Gehlot Nov 1st, 1956
30. Sikkim Gangtok Shri PS Golay May 16th, 1975
31. Tamilnadu Chennai Shri M. K. Stalin Jan 26th, 1950
32. Telangana Hyderabad Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao Jun 2nd, 2014
33. Tripura Agartala Shri Biplab Kumar Deb Jan 21st, 1972
34. Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Shri Yogi Aditya Nath Jan 26th, 1950
35. Uttarakhand Dehradun (for winter) & Gairsain (for summer) Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami Nov 9th, 2000
36. West Bengal Kolkata Km. Mamata Banerjee Nov 1st, 1956

Next Topic#

Youtube For Videos Join Our Youtube Channel: Join Now


Help Others, Please Share

facebook twitter pinterest

Learn Latest Tutorials


Trending Technologies

B.Tech / MCA