Android Find My Phone (Device)
Google provides facility to find, lock, or erase your lost Android phone or tablet, or Wear OS watch. If you have added a Google Account to your lost device, Find My Device is automatically turned on.
To find, lock, or erase an Android phone, it must be:
- Turned on
- Signed in to Google Account
- Connected to mobile data or Wi-Fi
- Visible on Google Play
- Location turned on
- Find My Device turned on
Remotely find, lock, or erase
1. Go to android.com/find and sign in to your Google Account.
This will display your phone (device) on Google Find My Device page.
- If you have more than one phone, click on the lost phone display at the top of the screen.
- If you have more than one user profile on your lost device, sign in with a Google Account that's on the main profile.
2. The lost phone gets a notification.
3. On the map, you will get information about where the phone is.
- The located location is approximate and might not be accurate.
- If your phone cannot be found, you will see its last known location, if available.
4. Select your operation that you want to do.
- Play sound: Click on the "PLAY SOUND" option to ring your phone at full volume for 5 minutes. The phone will ring even it is set to silent or vibrate.
- Lock: Click on "SECURE DEVICE" to lock your phone with your PIN, pattern, or password. If you do not have a lock, you are able to set it. You are able to add a message or phone number to the lock screen, which will help someone to return it.
- Erase: On clicking "ERASE DEVICE", it will permanently delete all data on your phone (might not delete SD card). After erasing your device, the Find My Device would not work on the phone.
Note: If you find your phone (device) after erasing, you will require your Google Account password to use it again.